h1

Toddler negotiations

June 15, 2017

Today, Rachel was convinced to:

1. Help me pull her shorts up when I asked if she could while she was fighting getting dressed.

2. Stick her hand in some paint so I could get her hand print. I was surprised how much she didn’t want to do it, considering the way she dips her hands into her yogurt every evening. I had decided to give up on it, when she asked for the paint, and let me make the print.

3. Let me put bug spray on her before we went outside. She hates having lotion or anything applied and seemed afraid of the spray bottle. I showed her how I would spray it on my hand first, then put it on her, and told her we couldn’t go outside until it was done, and she relented. When we have the time and when going out is just something we want to do, instead of something we have to, I think it’s good to work her through these things.

Leave a Reply

