h1

Desparate, tidy, sore

February 18, 2017

1. Rachel chasing after the broom, desperate to get the piece of cereal in my dust pile (She didn’t get it).

2. Organizing the pantry cupboard. I love how tidy it is now and more motivated to work on the bigger areas. Plus, even though that cupboard has a safety latch on it, Rachel can still open it about three inches and now there’s nothing she can grab that is able to be pulled out.

3. Waking up a little sore from a Pilates workout I did yesterday. I’ve gotten into a rut of the same workout dvd and am a little tired of my 5+ years of Jillian Michaels, so it was good to switch things up.

3 comments

  1. Wow. You did Jillian Michael’s for 5+ years? I tried her workout routines on and off for 6 months or so. I wasn’t very happy with them. I found them too exhausting, although that might be partly my fault because I used heavier dumbbells (the only ones we have) but still as many reps. I’ve recently started trying the Fitness Blender videos on YouTube, and like them a lot better. (They incorporate a lot of Pilates moves.) I like how they have such a variety of exercises and workouts, and ones for various levels, and I prefer the quieter tone instead of the “rah rah rah” from Jillian Michaels and the like. πŸ˜› JM’s were good too, though, I just may have overworked when I did them and then gotten a bad impression from that.


    • I find her pretty annoying, but I do still like the three workouts on free dvd I have. My knees can’t the the jumping, even jumping jacks, anymore so I have to modify a lot of the cardio portions. I only use 5 lb dumbbells. πŸ˜€


      • I don’t have any workout DVDs, so I only have tried her 30-Day Shred videos on YouTube. I like the way FitnessBlender has more of a variety of jumping or moving around moves besides jumping jacks, the only problem is, they are hard for me to figure out how to do sometimes! Almost like dance moves. Confuses my brain sometimes.

        The jumping motions don’t hurt my knees, but they make my ankle muscles cramp up and get sore, which also makes it hard for me to jog. So it’s always a quandary for me whether I should even do these workout videos when I’m also trying to jog during the week. There’s only so much impact they can take before it makes things worse, not better πŸ˜›

        Yeah, I was using 8-lb weights for the arm exercises. Feels incredibly easy at first, but after so many reps my muscle fibers would end up feeling so tired, achy and exhausted for days, much more exhausted than they feel after strength training (even though strength training actually feels harder while I do it). I don’t think I was always working out very wisely–if I was smart I’d do a little more research on how to work out in a healthy way. Instead I always do the workout routines with vigor & enjoy it for a while, then realize I am exhausting my body and I fall off the bandwagon and stop doing it, and I never find the middle ground where I can consistently continue. πŸ˜›

        BTW, I enjoy all your stories about Rachel even if I don’t comment on them!



Leave a Reply

