h1

Visiting, coffee, learning

February 8, 2017

1. Rachel and I visited my younger sisters at their apartment on Monday. It’s a charming place and it was fun to go visiting.

2. I was holding Rachel while measuring out coffee beans and she grabbed three and stuffed them in her mouth before I could stop her. I chased after them and she seemed glad to give them up. Later, when I was drinking my coffee, she wanted it, which is typical, but I tell her it’s hot and mine. Today she responded by trying to blow on it to cool it off.

3. I’ve been reading The Happiest Toddler on the Block and am finding it really interesting. I don’t want to parent from a book, but I have been feeling in need of some tools. Today when I was trying to trim Rachel’s nails, she was fighting and crying like she normally does over it. Instead of trying to get her to stop fighting, I decided to try a method from the book, and responded to her with a slightly dramatic ‘no, no, no, you don’t want your nails trimmed! You say you don’t want to be held still! But we need to clip your nails so you don’t scratch anyone’. She actually settled down and let me clip all her nails without trying to writhe off my lap. Maybe it’s a one time fluke, but it’s worth trying again.

Leave a Reply

