h1

Birthday

December 15, 2016
  1. We had a nice play date with the friends we canceled on a few weeks ago. The other baby is about 5 months younger than Rachel (Baby) and was fascinated by her balloon. Rachel showed off her new words (“balloon” and “ball”), and I think we all enjoyed a change from our routines.
  2. I’ve decided it’s time to start a gradual night weaning process. The kellymom website says it’s normal for babies and little kids to wake to feed up until 3 years old, but I just don’t feel like that’s going to work for us. It’s going to make nights rough for a while probably, but they are already pretty bad anyway. I remember feeling a little sad when Rachel was tiny and had started sleeping longer stretches and I missed getting up to nurse her all the time. Now, I feel like most of her awakenings are just out of habit, and none of us are getting decent stretches of sleep anymore. I don’t like thinking that I’m taking away her night time comfort, but I guess I’ll have to make sure that she get’s plenty of cuddling and nursing during the day
  3. I gave Rachel her teddy bear for her naps today. She seemed to fight the naps less and was asleep much quicker than normal. I don’t know if it is because she was exhausted from being up so much last night, or her 5 am wakeup time, or the company of the bear, but we’ll try it again tomorrow.
  4. S and I were reminiscing about Rachel’s birth last year. She was so scrawny and screamy, and the only things she liked were skin-to-skin, and breastfeeding. That first night in the hospital, S wondered (to himself thankfully) what we were getting ourselves into, but it took me until about the 4th night after her birth to ask myself that, and probably another week or more before I admitted wondering that. I remember the first time she made a noise that wasn’t crying, and how exciting it was. She has always had so much personality, and I love seeing her grow.
Leave a Reply

